top of page

Flower Power

I had a remarkable day earlier this year. It was a mix of outdoor and indoor adventure, solo wandering and team effort. In the morning, I headed out to the Carpinteria flower tour. Every year a group of growers in Carpinteria open their greenhouses to the public -- free of charge. The tours are fascinating and informative. I learned an enormous amount about growing and cutting flowers. I stood amidst orchids, roses, and chrysanthemums; gazed at California poppies with their bright orange petals open to the sun, studied the blazing blues of the Lady of Madera, and enjoyed the gentle buzzing of the bees. When I drove away from Carpinteria, I was awash in joy.

From there I headed to Ojai for a vegan cheese-making workshop. A dozen people gathered in a gorgeous home to see five different cheeses made. As a non-cook, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy the recipes were. Plus they were super-yummy and the group was fun.

I came home relaxed, less focused on the news, and more turned in to my surroundings. It was like yoga for the brain. The day served as a lovely reminder to appreciate the beauty around me rather than focusing on the weeds.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page